WoLaS Associations

originally posted by Konran

I've been meaning to post this for a while now, just never got around to it.

Okay, so the first time I read Curse of the Mistwraith, I was a freshman in high school (a whole six years ago now… lyke whoa.) I remember I grabbed it off the shelf at the library because the cover was so pretty, but from the description on the cover I thought it was going to be one of those stereotypical fantasy novels.

Ha, was I wrong.

Anyway, in my English class that year we had "silent reading time", which was in my opinion the best part of school, and I can clearly remember sitting up in the window on top of the heater, because it was October or November and it was cold. It was very grey and rainy too. I started reading and from page one I was sucked in. I wasn't able to read for the rest of the day, but as soon as I got home, I kept going. I'd been obsessed with iced tea for a while before that, so I remember going and making a huge glass of lemon iced tea and curling up on the couch to read.

So, the point of this unnecessarily long post is that I will forever associate lemon iced tea with Janny's books.

Do you remember the first WoLaS book you read? Do you associate anything in particular with your first time or the series in general? (I'm used to giving out spoonfed discussions on the other message board I frequent. XD )

originally posted by Auna

I also got that book because of the shiny, pretty cover. I thought it was going to be a trilogy. Heh, boy was I wrong!

I had no idea there were other books in the series for maybe two or three years. I just thought it was one of those cliffhanger, "you decide what happens" endings.

originally posted by Beth Caudill