War of Light and Shadows Roleplaying

originally posted by Stephen Mulligan

Hey,

Has anyone run an RPG based on the series and if so, how did the game go? What system did you use and how did you fit into the series?

Cheers
Stephen

Hi Stephen Mulligan - welcome here!

Nobody has bought the (commercial) rights to do this. Cool if it happened…

originally posted by BillBob

I've been working on using Paravia/Athera as the homeworld for my "non commercial" campaign setting for my gaming group. I've been tinkering with it off and on for several years. I started with d20 D&D and now have pretty much moved it to Pathfinder with material culled from various third party sources from both D&D 3.5 and Pathfinder third party sources to try to achieve even 1% of the feel of the world that Janny has so lovingly created.

I have a 40 page Campaign Setting guide that I have written thus far and so far the members of my gaming group that I've shared it with, are ready to play in it.

As far as where in the series it's set, at least this particular campaign, I have it envisioned somewhere in the Alliance of Light years I think. I haven't read the series front to back since before Traitor's Knot came out so am a little rusty on the events, but definitely after the Mistwraith has been locked away.

Do I think I have achieved a feel for the world? A bit, but it is a very complex ecosystem to try to replicate.

My name on most of the forum boards that I frequent is Sethvir or Asandir. Not this one though! :smiley:

D20 was the system that I had in mind when I started thinking about the setting. The combination of skills and feats (and classes) makes it possible to attempt to replicate the types of characters from the setting.

BillBob, had any of your players read the series? Was it difficult to get the history and details across? None of my group read too much…it's a problem with some games!

Janny, thanks for the welcome. I'm enjoying the series immensely.

Stephen

Hey Stephen,