Where are the lanes?

originally posted by Christopher Helmke

Hello there. Newbie here who just finished reading Stormed Fortress. After reading through the series I was wondering just where all of Athera's lanes are located. Is there any chance the map of Athera might be updated to identify their positions? I though about doing a re-read and taking notes but it would be kind of time consuming.

Chris

originally posted by Tygrr

There is an interactive Athera map here, but I don't think it has the lanes marked.

originally posted by Hunter

Lanes one to seven go through the continent of Paravia, starting with the 1st lane which runs through Avenor in the west through to the seventh lane which runs through Athir in the east. The lanes are vertical (i.e. north south in general orientation) but not straight (not like lines of longitude). Then there are also ley lines which seem to run basically horizontal.

Paravian focus circles tended to sit on lanes so look for those as a general rule for where the lanes on Paravia are.

originally posted by Annette

Having tracked all the lanes through what hints we got in the books I have a so far unfounded suspicion about them. The Paravians who knew not only where they were going to build and need focus circles but also where man was going to build centuries later seem to have the lanes running through every large permanent settlement, even the towns that were not even built back then. Obviously some protected locations are more sensitive than others, but the location of the lanes does seem suspicious. Perhaps someone has plans for mankind taking a bigger role in the preservation of Athera's mysteries.

originally posted by Sleo

Wow, you guys are amazing. I'm going to have to haul out the map I bought from Janny and do some hunting around. That's an interesting thought, Annette.