S'Ffalen Compassion.

originally posted by Drakedouay

Howdy, I'm a newbie.
I've said this before, elsewhere. I thought I'd say it again ;

What would happen if Arithon s'Ffalen directed his COMPASSION towards and
at…himself ?
All of the time.
What would happen in his life ? ( slyly)

originally posted by HJ

Hi Drakedouay,

I think he does.

A lot.

That's most of his problem.

That's why his life, generally, has been so tortuous.

:wink:

originally posted by Drakedouay

Hey HJ.( grin)

You say that Arithon directs his " super-power " of Compassion
TO and FOR and AT himself a lot ?
Where ?

Self-Pity and Compassion are not the same thing.

I've never seen Arithon deliberately use his Compassion on himself…anywhere.
When did this happen, then ?

( Uneasy grin )

originally posted by Hannah

A "super-power" of Compassion? That's an… interesting interpretation.

The definition of compassion is: Deep awareness of the suffering of another coupled with the wish to relieve it. Empathy is much the same ("understanding and entering into another's feelings"). Those terms cannot, strictly speaking, be applied to one's self. You can't empathize with yourself.

You're wondering what would happen if Arithon freely forgave himself, or was lenient (tolerant) with himself as he is in the habit of being with others.

I don't know that his incredible patience with other people and their foibles springs SOLELY from his gift of empathy, however. I believe there are other aspects of his personality and experience that cause that effect (e.g., his bardic training, his mage training, his personal life experience…)

In fact it may be because of the advanced training he's received that he holds himself to a higher standard of behavior than he holds other people to. In the trite words from Spiderman "With great power comes great responsibility."