Dark Cults & Wraithes

originally posted by motley

A speculation - the dark cults captured wraiths are similar to those that seeded the Marak wraiths and the Mistwraithe.

Paravians cannot live in a darkening world. What if that doesn't actually mean light per se, but low vibrating energy - of the sort that the cultists would emit in their rituals & even existence.

eeek… my cat just rolled all over the keyboard… silly boy.

originally posted by Eve Marangon

******SPOILER****
Don't the mistwraith have a singular concience? I seem to remember something about that- didn't Arithon keep his individual conciousness when he ended up in trouble with the dark cult??? I guess that means each soul that’s gobbled up by the dark cults is suffering, but they still have Names, whereas Marak and mistwraiths don't so can't be freed…? Or am I totally wrong??? This is my first attempt at a post, so if I get it wrong, I am sorry!

PS - Thanks to everyone on the site who may read this for some great insights over the years - I drop in to read your comments from time to time, and the insights you have given me for each re-read have been invaluable!

originally posted by Jo

This is why I love these books so much because everyone has their own opinion on what the characters are thinking, what certain things mean etc.

***SPOILER**
Can't remember where the post was set but soemone said about Arithon being hurt by Davien using him at the end of TK I still don't see that but then that's my opinion.

I'm not sure about the mistwraiths I think they can be freed but I think only by the 2 princes working in harmony, which I think we would have more chance of Dakar taking a vow of celibacy, or they could be freed by a certain mastarbard. Not 100% sure if I am right though.

originally posted by Eve Marangon

Take a look at 'Ships' when Varrien the spell binder is asked to help cast strands - the nature of the mistwraith are explained a bit more clearly there.