A question of balance

originally posted by Sam Hogg

Hi Janny, I'm a long time fan of your work, and have actually met you a couple of times at DragonCon in Atlanta, though I've not been for a couple of years now. Last time I was there, I gave you a sketch of Arithon, stood in front of a viking-inspired monolith, with Alithiel over his shoulder (sayeth she, in the vague hope it might spark a memory!).

You are perhaps one of the few people I could think of who might be able to offer a wise word. I am, by trade, a concept artist. It's been my dream since I left school, and I achieved it just six months ago. I spent the last few years with that sole goal in mind, giving up every last moment I had to get to a level that was good enough for the job I wanted. I used to write a lot when I was younger, and still enjoy it hugely when I find the time to do so now, but rarely do, as art takes up the vast majority of my life. I have one manuscript for a 500 or so page novel written, that I do believe has potential to be published professionally, given a little more editing, but finding the time is tricky, without resorting to a life of permanent hermitry!

You do both professionally, as I would truly love to do - it's one of the reasons I respect and admire what you do. How do you find the time to balance between the two disciplines? Do you consider yourself a writer first and foremost, and do the art when the writing allows? Or are both of equal standing to you? I would love to dedicate more time to writing, with a couple of ideas I've had bubbling for some time now, but in a field such as concept art where there are so many up and coming youngsters whose talents are already a match to my own, and competition is fierce for the good jobs, I feel almost like I can't rest on my laurels by stopping to write.